Home HISTORIC REGISTERS Districts

Armour Boulevard/Gillham Road Historic Hotel District PDF  | Print |
Armour Bouelvard/Gillham Road Historic Hotel District Bellerive Hotel, 214 E. Armour Boulevard. Built in 1921-22 of brick, terra cotta and limestone. Architect is Preston J. Bradshaw of St. Louis. Building was listed on National Register of Historic Places on February 28, 1980. At the time of its construction, the eight-story Bellerive Hotel was the largest luxury apartment hotel in Kansas City. A St. Louis based company, the Bellerive Investment Corporation, at an investment of $2 million, developed the hotel. The hotel was named for St. Ange de Bellerive who was the first military commandant and acting governor of St. Louis. Preston Bradshaw, the architect, gained a national prominence as a result of his work with Stanford White, in the design of the House/Senate buildings in Washington, D.C.

Carriage House, 218 E. Armour Boulevard. Built in 1908 and remodeled in 1929. The architect of the remodeling was Mary Rockwell Hook. The building was erected as a carriage house for the residence of Dr. Albert G. Hull. When the Bellerive Hotel was erected in 1922, the Hull mansion was razed, but the carriage hose was spared.

Park Central Hotel, 300-02 E. Armour Boulevard. Built in 1929 of brick, stone and terra cotta. By Snyder Realty and Investment Company. The building contains renaissance revival elements. The Park Central was constructed to contain 70 units. The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on February 28, 1980.

Clyde Manor, 3430-50 E. Armour Boulevard. Started in 1930. Completed in 1944. The architect was Phillip T. Drotts. The style contains English perpendicular elements with Art Deco ornament. The building was owned by the Gate City Building Corporation and promoted by E. Clyde Von Steinman, for which it was named. The hotel was originally designed to carry 11 stories. In 1930 the skeleton of the structure was completed, however, Mr. Steinman disappeared leaving contractors without the money to complete the work. Construction of the hotel stopped abruptly. In 1944 construction was resumed and the building completed at an eight of nine stories. Phillips Drotts was also the architect for the Aladdin Hotel, 1213 Wyandotte; the Newbern Apartments, 525 E. Armour Boulevard; and the Nazarene Theological Seminary, 1700 E. Meyer. The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on February 28, 1980.

Old Gillham, 3430-36 Gillham Road. Built in 1913 of brick and stone at a cost of $40,000. The architects were Owen & Payson. Elements are second renaissance revival. The Old Gillham was heralded as a “porchless apartment” as a sun parlor took the place of the traditional exterior porch. The sun parlor within the interior floor plan allowed the builder to conserve space by using the full depth of the lot. The apartment contained sixteen units, each of which had a fireplace, and five rooms in addition to the “sun parlor.” Other innovations incorporated into the design of the building included steam heating, a garbage incinerating system and a central vacuum system.

Apartments, 3422-24 and 3418-20 Gillham Road, Built in 1924 of brick and stone in tapestry brick style by and for Buford G. Mitchell. The four story identical apartments were each constructed at a cost of $42,500. Centrally placed entrance on east side with fanlight transom and projecting brick surround ornamented with cut stone.

Apartments, 3408-10, 3404-06, 3400-02 Gillham Road, Built in 1914 of brick, stone and wood in tapestry brick style by McCanles Realty Company. The three story, identical apartments were constructed for the McCanles Realty Company at a cost of $17,500 each. East façade contains two projecting bays with enclosed porches and recessed central bay.

Georgian Court Apartments, 400 E. Armour Boulevard

Sombart Apartments, 420 E. Armour Boulevard